I’ve had an interest in photography for several years which has thus far been a hobby that I seldom indulge in; I wouldn’t count out the possibility of eventually trying to do it professionally, but I don’t necessarily have any significant aspirations of doing so at this time. My primary reason for not engaging in the hobby more often than I have is laziness, but the equipment I’ve had at my disposal has also been a factor.

Taken with a MotoG with some adjustments made afterward (color, contrast, vignetting).

Taken with a Moto G.

Until recently I haven’t had access to anything better than an older point-and-shoot or my cell phone and I’ve always been somewhat frustrated by the limitations of “lesser” cameras. Granted, the person behind the camera is arguably more important than the camera itself so long as you can work within the technical limits of the device (too an extent, naturally)—I’ve gotten decent pictures out of my mid-range phone, mind you.

Taken with a Canon PowerShot A470.

Taken with a Canon PowerShot A470.

That being said, despite being far from an expert, the limitations of less capable cameras have frustrated me at times, particularly in regards to not having more control of focus and exposure. In an attempt to broaden my horizons I recently purchased a used Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1 which I plan to use for the foreseeable future (although I’d like to get a better lens at some point if I can). It’s not exactly the new hotness, but it’s better than anything I’ve had before it and it should serve me well enough as I continue to try my hand at photography.

Taken with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1.

Taken with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1.

Of course, now that I have less of a technical barrier, I need to work on motivating myself to find and go out to good spots to photograph. I’d like to take some more shots of animals, landscapes, cityscapes, night shots (city lights, or stars if I can find an area with relatively little light pollution), portraits, as well as getting a little more experimental (e.g. using a long exposure to do light painting).

One step at a time, I suppose—I’ll see what happens.

